Posted by: Brian Musser | March 28, 2011

Where is God in Haiti?

Where is God in Haiti?
Can God be alive;
In a nation that may not endure,
In the tents of half a million,
In the streets piled with debris?
Where is God in Haiti?
Can God be sovereign;
In the city of the sun,
In a place that refuses order,
Where hope is given no quarter?
Where is God in Haiti?
Can God save;
When there is no future,
Where people cannot imagine tomorrow,
Where each moment tastes of sorrow?
Where is God in Haiti?
Can He See?
Does He hear the suffering?
Does He know the names of 300,000 in one grave?
Is He powerful enough to make a change?
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned;
The flames will not set you ablaze.
For I am the LORD your God,”
Where is God in Haiti?
He is here.  I have found Him.
He is present in a people that stand tall.
A people that might fail tomorrow,
But will last resilient today.
Where is God in Haiti?
He is here.  I have found Him.
He is in the churches that give without reward.
He is in the pastors that do their best;
They have little, but all is shared.
Where is God in Haiti?
He is here.  I have found Him.
He is in the laughter of orphans at play.
He is in the voice of an angel singing praises.
He is in the call to every new day.
Where is God in Haiti?
He is here.  I have found Him.
He is in the faith of His people.
A faith that could not be moved,
Even though the whole world shook.
Where is God in Haiti?
He is here.  I have found Him.
When I leave will He go with me?
When I leave will God be so easy to see?
But for now, I know He is here.  I have found Him.
Anything to add?

Categories

