Posted by: Brian Musser | July 13, 2011

Drexel’s 124th Commencement

Saturday, June 11th I had the ability to participate in two of Drexel’s 124th Commencements.  If you are interested in watching check out the link below:

http://www.drexel.edu/univrel/commencement/2011/main/webcasts.html

I spoke at the Commencement for the Lebow College of Business and at the College of Nursing and Health Professions and School of Public Health.  There is large amount of time in the beginning of the webcasts of waiting for it to start.  If you just want to see me you can fast forward the Lebow ceremony to around 47:20 and the Nursing ceremony to 33:10.  Watching these videos may give you a glimpse into what it is like to speak to God in front of a huge crowd that is not necessarily on the same page with you.  In a way that is respectful but also accurate.  Each time I try to speak in a way that starts a conversation.  Nobody will make a significant spiritual decision because of the three minutes I am given in front of a room of two thousand but I want to make sure that if they are paying attention they will have something to think about.  If you have a moment, compare what I say with the other invocations that my religious counterparts shared at the other services.  As I am put into situations like this more and more, please pray for me for wisdom to do what is absolutely the best possible thing for the kingdom of God at Drexel University.

Anything to add?

Categories

