Posted by: Brian Musser | September 9, 2011

A Quick Update

After taking some considerable time off this summer to evaluate my effectiveness and my functionality with all that I was doing, I came to the conclusion that I would not be able to maintain my current commitments and still function as God has called me to function.  A large part of this was precipitated from the fact that from July 10th to August 15th, with all things considered, I had worked 32 out of the 35 days clocking over 320 hours in my various capacities.  Although, I can find the meaning and importance in all that I was doing.  I was doing too much and some important things were not being done or not being done well.  So, at the beginning of this week I officially resigned from the part-time position of Coordinator of Spiritual Life that I held in regards to the University.  This will free me up to be a better Baptist Campus Minister.

I held the position for a year and it was a great experience.  It educated me on the inner workings of the University.  I learned how much most Christian ministers misunderstand the goals and desires of a University.  I really saw the need for us to better understand our University context in order for us to better partner with the University to be able to serve the students in the best way possible.  I am truly grateful for this opportunity.  I also think that I was able to accomplish a few ground breaking things when it came to the position.  Drexel is a better place for the year I served in this capacity.  Spiritual Life at Drexel made some strides forward during that time.  I would even venture to say that Christianity will have greater access to the  Academy.

Moving forward, I am looking forward to being more available to students and faculty and staff.  I am looking forward to being less bogged down with the requirements of my job so that I can truly be a resource for others as they process their time at Drexel.  I need to personally be responsible for less so that I  can be available to individual spiritual needs of those on my campus.  I also will be much more attentive to the needs of our local churches as they process how to reach the next generations and academic institutions.  I will also be more communicative.  I designed in my schedule to create Fridays as the day where I intentionally stay in contact with those who care about what I’m doing at Drexel.

There is one major concern with this new direction.  That concern is financial.  I was being financially compensated by the University for the 10hrs per week I was doing for them.  That was extremely helpful in making ends meet.  As we move forward, we will look to compensate for that loss through several ministry fundraising and partnership strategies.  Please be in prayer with how you could potentially help our ministry.

In Christ,

Brian J Musser

Baptist Campus Minister at Drexel University

Responses

  1. Thank you, Brian for all your hard work at Drexel. I really appreciated your efforts as Spiritual Coordinator and was glad to get to work with you during my time at Newman. Many blessings to you as the adventure of serving Christ continues. Hope to have lunch soon! Peace. Crissy


Anything to add?

Categories

