Posted by: Brian Musser | August 25, 2012

Lessons from the Sandbox (A Book Review)

Books don’t always impress me for what they say.  Sometimes it is more about what they make me think.  Lessons from the Sandbox by Dr. Alan Gregerman is one of those books that I will talk more about the thoughts I had while reading it instead of the actual content.

The basic concept of the book is that the way we were as children better prepared us to function in the current business world than we could have ever imagined.  Our living in a world of play with energy and enthusiasm allowed us to focus on those things that were truly urgent and lead others to achieve their best.  Our curiosity almost forced us to explore a wonder-filled world, questioning and trying every new creation and innovation.  We instinctually knew our and others need to belong, participating and encouraging participation at every moment, creating cozy places that promoted success and celebrating every imaginable accomplishment.  These three sentences describe both the ideal workplace and a every day as a child.

I found the book encouraging and insightful.  I was challenged to evaluate my life.  I love my life.  I love my job.  I have a whole lot of freedom in my job to create a positive experience for myself and those around me.  How do I do this better?  How do I have more fun?  How do I allow my insatiable curiosity guide me more often?  How do I celebrate better?  These are questions that I will be considering for awhile.  I highly recommend reading the book for what it says.

That is what the book intended, however, it produced a train of unintended thought as well.  In Matthew 18: 2 – 4, Jesus commends a child-like faith.

Then He called a child to Him and had him stand among them. “I assure you,” He said, “unless you are converted and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child—this one is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

As we have just seen somethings that are natural for us as children should be incorporated into our adult work life, What are those parts of a a child-like faith that should be incorporated into our adult spiritual life?  And more importantly, how are we doing at having a child-like faith?  Please share your thoughts in the comment section below.

I dug up and old song from Jars of Clay that might be fun to listen too as we think.

What I am reading now: The Next Christians: The Good News about the End of Christian America by Gabe Lyons

Responses

  1. […] Lessons from the Sandbox (A Book Review). Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Anything to add?

Categories

