Posted by: Brian Musser | December 12, 2012

Praying Together

Matthew 18:19-20 (NIV) “Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

In the garden right before his death on the cross Jesus prayed that his followers may be one.  Think about the importance of that through the eyes of Jesus.  Knowing his death is soon our unity is what he chose to spend time petitioning God the Father about.  There are several facets as to why Jesus cared so much about out unity.  Because of his eternal, intimate, perfect connection with the Father and the Spirit in the Trinity he knew what true unity was.  Three persons united in one essence is the foundational description of the God of the Universe.  The unity of the Trinity is all of existence’s normal.  He also knew that our unity would be an important apologetic to the rest of the world.  Because of the believers unity the world would know that the Father truly sent Jesus.  I also think he prayed for it because because he knew how hard it would be for us to achieve it.  He knew that unity would be crazy hard for us.

As I petition God in prayer, I try to unite my will with the Father’s.  I try to connect my passion with the passion of Christ.  I allow my words to be interpreted by the Holy Spirit.  I want my requests to be united with the Trinity.  There is power in praying together that are doing the same thing.  Imagine being in the same prayer with another person trying to connect with the will of Father as you.  Imagine both of you trying to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit as you pray.  Imagine both of you praying together in the unity that Christ desires of us.  That would be a very powerful prayer.  Christ’s presence would be palpable in that time of prayer.

Have you ever experienced true unity in prayer?

Anything to add?

Categories

