Posted by: Brian Musser | April 12, 2014

Working in Wisdom with God

Work-Ship – Week One:  God Works – Day Three: Working in Wisdom with God

Talking about God as a working God might be a new experience for you.  You may have a very high concept of God that limits how you think about Him working.  That might be because of a faulty definition of work or that might because of a limited concept of who God is.  But allow us a moment today to see if Scripture displays a God who works in such a way that we can relate.  Let’s take a moment to examine a passage of Scripture from Proverbs.  This is an interesting portion of Scripture where “Wisdom” has been personified and is speaking to us.   “Wisdom” first gives us some advice about how we should use it and then relates that back to how God used “Wisdom” in the creation.  Do not read to much theologically into the fact that “Wisdom” is speaking.  This is a literary device employed by the writer of the Proverbs to convey his message.

Proverbs 8:12-31 (HCSB)

12 I, Wisdom, share a home with shrewdness and have knowledge and discretion.
13 To fear the Lord is to hate evil. I hate arrogant pride, evil conduct, and perverse speech.
14 I possess good advice and competence; I have understanding and strength.
15 It is by me that kings reign and rulers enact just law;
16 by me, princes lead, as do nobles and all righteous judges.
17 I love those who love me, and those who search for me find me.
18 With me are riches and honor, lasting wealth and righteousness.
19 My fruit is better than solid gold, and my harvest than pure silver.
20 I walk in the way of righteousness, along the paths of justice,
21 giving wealth as an inheritance to those who love me, and filling their treasuries.

22 “The Lord made me at the beginning of His creation, before His works of long ago.
23 I was formed before ancient times, from the beginning, before the earth began.
24 I was born when there were no watery depths and no springs filled with water.
25 I was delivered before the mountains and hills were established,
26 before He made the land, the fields, or the first soil on earth.
27 I was there when He established the heavens, when He laid out the horizon on the surface of the ocean,
28 when He placed the skies above, when the fountains of the ocean gushed out,
29 when He set a limit for the sea so that the waters would not violate His command, when He laid out the foundations of the earth.
30 I was a skilled craftsman beside Him. I was His delight every day, always rejoicing before Him.
31 I was rejoicing in His inhabited world, delighting in the human race.

I am going to take this passage out of order, looking at the second half first and then talk about the first half.  “Wisdom” credits her creation to God before anything else was made.  And then says that God used “Wisdom” throughout the creation of the universe.  “Wisdom” was a tool that God used to create.  “Wisdom” was a skilled craftsman created to work alongside of God.  God created and “Wisdom” was how god created.  God worked in a wise way.  God used “Wisdom” in His work.

Now let’s look at the first portion of the passage.  “Wisdom” is connected to shrewdness and has knowledge and discretion.  “Wisdom” also has advice, competence, understanding and strength.  Kings, ruler, princes, nobles and judges are all strongly encouraged to use “Wisdom” in order to do their jobs well.  It is suggested that we all love and search for “Wisdom.”  And working with help and within the guidelines of “Wisdom” we will be successful.  In other words; “Wisdom” is something that is strongly and emphatically good for humans to use while they work.  So we are encouraged to use the same tool God used when He worked in creation.

Drawing a conclusion: We should work in a wise manner as God has demonstrated that He worked through creation in a wise manner.

How can you apply Godly wisdom to your work?  What could you learn from God that could help you with your job?  Have you ever prayed for God to give you wisdom to do your job excellently?

Take a moment to invite God through a simple prayer to show you His wisdom and how it connects with your job.

Anything to add?

Categories

