Posted by: Brian Musser | April 21, 2014

The Father Sustains Us

Work-Ship – Week Two:  The Father At Work – Day Twelve:  The Father Sustains Us

Last week we came to the conclusion that our definition of work must be based on God’s work.  If we are going to figure out what work is, how we are supposed to work and the proper place work should have in our lives it must be rooted in the way God works.  So we are going to spend a significant amount of time over the next several weeks looking at the work of God.  To organize this conversation about the work of God we are going to explore God’s work through the lens of the Trinity.

  • Week Two – The Father at Work
  • Week Three – The Son at Work
  • Week Four – The Spirit at Work

Yesterday, we saw that God creates each one of us individually.  We were reminded that God is a God who is okay with creating through the small things and the details of life.  Today, we are going to look at the verses from the beginning of Psalm 139.  Not only did God create us individually but he also sustains us individually.  God is perfectly fine sustaining the details day in and day out.

Psalm 139:1-12 (NIV)

1 You have searched me, Lord,
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you, Lord, know it completely.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.
7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

In the first four verse we see that God knows us intimately.  Although, God is omniscient and knows everything, it is still significant to hear that the God of the Universe knows you.  God has taken the time to know you.  Then the next eight verses are about God always being there with you.  No matter where you go in your life God will be there.  For many of us this is a great encouragement.  For some it may sound more like a threat.  If God knows you completely and has all your days mapped out nothing you do can surprise Him.

This passage makes me think about an amazing supervisor who is involved with his employees on the level that the supervisor knows how to place each employee in the optimum level for success.  God knows us, knows where we are going and knows how we will handle the situation when we get there.  Nothing we do will surprise the God who can sustain us through out.

For many of us our jobs require us to sustain people and/or processes on a daily basis.  We need to be intimately involved in the everyday workings and workers.  When we are at our best and sustaining others we could actually be working in the image of God.  God’s image could be shining through us as we sustain in the way that God sustains each and every on of us.

Do you have a hard time managing the small details of your job?  Do some things seem to minuscule for your attention?  How could thinking about the sustaining work of God change your opinion of your own job?

Anything to add?

Categories

