Posted by: Brian Musser | March 14, 2016

Spring Break In Panama City Beach

I just got back from a Spring Break Service Trip to Panama City Beach.  It was a joint effort between multiple student ministries associated with the Baptist Convention of Penn/South Jersey.  Students and leaders from California University of Pennsylvania, Carnegie Melon University, Clarion University, Lock Haven University, Millersville University, West Chester University and Drexel University all participated.

1980182_1024481684262403_2943544695884357360_o

We directly served Spring Breakers with free pancakes and free van rides for about 40 total hours during the week with the hope of bringing the light of Christ into a week that can be a very dark time.  Spring Break is not the glamorous carefree party that our culture makes it out to be.  The persistent prevalence of pain is often ignored by the cameras.  Hopefully, we eased some of that pain during the week.

12841204_1272975852718153_2960205190978148180_o

In the process of serving spring breakers we were able to share that it was our faith Jesus Christ that motivated us to give of ourselves.  Several were so intrigued by our sharing the Good News of Christ in both word and deed that they made first time commitments to follow Jesus as well.

12823434_1272298802785858_3838317563639580809_o

During this week I composed a poem that captures my sentiments of the week more closely than anything else.

Pouring out of the condos, hotels and cars;
They hit the beaches, pavements and clubs.
Craving onto the dancefloors and up at the bars;
Chasing the contact to find the right rubs.

You’ll find them in the velas, tikis and freds;
Selling themselves to chance that feeling.
The love-searchers, hearts criers and the lonely dead;
Numbing themselves from the soul-stealing.

Use your time to purchase me tonight.
An imitation of love will make it feel right.
Give me a taste of meaning tonight.
An imitation of love will make it feel right.

Then came the wolves with their teethy slick grins.
Here come the predators puffing, “let me in.”
And their prey falls every single time.
If not there’s a thousand easier standing in line.

Hinting empty words and momentary passes;
Dancing and grinding defenses soon die.
If not yet maybe after another round of glasses.
If not now maybe after another promised lie.

Here’s my best line. Can I have you tonight?
No intention of love to make it feel right.
Give me a taste I’ll get you dreaming tonight.
No intention of love to make it feel right.

And I will roll out on the strip tonight;
Pleading with my God to send the light;
Splitting darkness, earth to sky.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.

And I’ll be hitting the strip tonight;
Begging my God with all my might;
Reach down to give the blind their sight.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.

Hound the empty lovers and the predator drones.
Release the women and the prodigal ones.
Prisoners unchained and captives freed.
Mutes screaming and blind men see.
Oppression beat down and banished poverty;
For here and now falls favor on this desperate city.

And I will roll out on the strip tonight;
Pleading with my God to send the light;
Splitting darkness, earth to sky.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.

And I’ll be hitting the strip tonight;
Begging my God with all my might;
Reach down to give the blind their sight.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.
Man needs the crucified lifted high.

 

Responses

  1. […] my review of the book.  I read it in a week.  Considering all that I was doing during that week (you can those details in my previous post) that means the book is a captivating read.  Especially during the middle chapters it reads more […]


Anything to add?

Categories

